Drink from the fountain of youth and get lost.

After work I went to a local mall. I hadn’t been in their for a good five minutes before I was bombarded by a youth. So this kid, I give him him twelve or thirteen yrs old, walks up to me and says, “excuse me, can I borrow a dollar so I can get something to drink”? I said borrow? And being that I don’t know you, when will I ever see you again to get paid back? He chuckles and says,”your right, can you buy me a soda please”. I eyeballed him, suspiciously of course, and Shorty just wasn’t letting up! I didn’t say a word, but couldn’t believe his boldness. I laughed at myself as I told him in my stern mother voice, “boy, go head and get something to drink and scram”! Go home and do some schoolwork!! He thanked me and went on his way. My, my, my… The youth of today! I followed him as I mentally scanned the whole perimeter of the store. (I’m always on point)
I couldn’t help my natural motherly instinct as I wanted to know more about him. Where did he live? Where were his parents? Is he homeless? Is he hungry? So many thoughts scanned my mind, and in the blink of an eye, he was gone. He was harmless. The soft spot in my heart told me so, and so did the honesty and innocence I saw in his eyes. I went on about my ventures and even managed to get some cute earrings, and hairbows from Dots that were marked down to $3, $2, and $5- Score!!! Yet, I couldn’t stop thinking about the youth who I had silently named “Shorty”.. It’s remarkable how bold these youth are. So different they are from yesterday’s past. I don’t know what’s in the water these days, but I sure won’t be drinking from that fountain!

Here’s what I wore to work:
Anne Klein Black and white pencil dress- thrifted
Liz Claiborne cardigan- thrifted
Black opaque tights- Marahalls
Shoes- Ross
Butterfly bracelet- gift
Earrings- H & M

20111021-000112.jpg

20111021-000150.jpg

20111021-000210.jpg

20111021-000240.jpg

20111021-000333.jpg

3 comments
  1. quarlita smith said:

    I like This Sister , These Kids that can get your mind wondering about them and there were abouts . I wish I could house them all πŸ˜›

  2. Mary Conyers said:

    I’m just loving all of this. Miss 4 year old is rocking it.

Leave a Reply

