Caught up..

Hello Dears.. I’ve missed you, as well as my blog. I have been doing so much that I just needed to breathe. Someone gave me great advice to recharge and refuel, so I’ve been trying to practice that principle. I think I’m good to go now so, leggo. Forgive me if this runs long, but I gotta catch you guys up. (warning: this post is kinda picture heavy)
Ok last week, I was a tad bit preoccupied. My guest post over at soshewrites had been been birthed, and I was excited about it. The piece I wrote was so much a part of me, that I was a little nervous to reveal it. I had to be true about it though, so fears had to be pushedย to the back. I’ve had good responses about the post and I’m grateful for all the lovely comments folks left me. The blog host Miss Dre was very good about the whole thing and encouraged me tremendously. I appreciate her giving my ideas a voice on her blog. It’s not often that you see women truly in support of other women and their work so this was a refreshing breath of air. Thanks Dre!!
My week at work was a doozy. I was blown on so many levels. All I can say is, the devil be busy! All week long. I almost gave in to exactly what my flesh was feeling but then, I wouldn’t have had a job. I thank the holy spirit for putting me in check. I began to realize what was going on. My spirit was under attack. We would be here all day if I start on that story, so that will have to be for another day. Don’t get it twisted, I’m thankful that I have a job and I don’t want to spend time complaining since I’m gonna get my job-working behind right up tomorrow and punch that clock! Lol.. I took several outfit pics through the week and wasn’t happy with them, so I won’t upload those. Well this one doesn’t look so bad.
I wore: Stripped tank- Target, Cardi- Old Navy, belt- thrifted, Skirt- old thrift, Tights- Target, Boots- Target

20111211-211905.jpg

20111211-211917.jpg
Yesterday, I went on a shopping trip to New York. I had a fab time, and we kinda shopped til we dropped. I didn’t buy a whole lot, but everybody else on the trip acted like I bought the whole town. I left with three tops, a coat, one dress, one pair of pants, and a pair of shoes. See, not alot at all. Of course I purchased a few gifts for friends and fam, and a few for the kiddies too. Forever21, Old Navy, and H & M were totally different and so much better than the ones in my city. I even got to visit the the beautiful Zara store. Aaaahhh, it was all so awesome. We went to Manhattan, Queens, Brooklyn, and China Town. It was sooooo crowded. New York is widely overpopulated like, nobody should be single. Ever. It’s so many choices, that I just don’t see it happening. Anyway, it was an entire day of shopping and I got back home about midnight. Here are a few pics of me and my shopping gear. (gotta be dressed comfy for long shopping)

20111211-213207.jpg

20111211-213221.jpg

20111211-213228.jpg

20111211-213237.jpg
For the past several weeks my pastor has been teaching this series on faith, finances, and family. I didn’t want to miss out on that message today, so I made sure that I was getting up no matter how tired I was. I decided to shop my closet for an outfit. I’m learning through this series that I don’t always have to buy a new outfit, or wear new clothes. Trust me, I have more than enough choices in my wardrobe, so I’m gonna try this shop my closet approach for a while. True, I did purchase some new items yesterday, but I didn’t go ham like I’ve been known to do in the past. I’m gonna try to keep my purchases to a minimum. I need to gain financial freedom. When I do purchase, I want it to be smart purchases. I shop thrift stores, and clearance racks, and I will discount to the end of time. But even still, that can add up. The fact of the matter is, I have some debt, and I need to gain freedom over that. I’m so on this Family Finance series because it is so where I am right now. I’m noticing a shift in my life in so many areas and I am gladly open to receive the change. It’s good to evolve, and I’m ready. So on to my blog. It’s going to be so diverse and I just hope you all stick with me through my ramblings, motherhood woes, life lessons, and other things according to Dee. Buckle up guys, it’s gonna be an interesting ride. Now on to my outfit for the day. I shopped in the archives for everything except the coat and $1 scarf from new york. Yep $1 and I love it

I’m wearing:
Denim Top- Ross dress for less
Denim skirt- Old Navy (5 yrs old)
Blazer Anne Taylor- thrifted
Belt- Forever21
Tights- Target
Booties- Bare Feet
Coat- New York
Shades- D & G
Bag- TJMax
Necklace- Lori’s
Bracelets, rings- H & M, F21
Watch- Thrifted
Earring- Rashidagurl (luv,luv, luv them)

20111211-214149.jpg

20111211-214201.jpg
These indoor pics might be a little blurry or dark. (sorry)

20111211-214532.jpg

20111211-215217.jpg

20111211-215232.jpg

20111211-215249.jpg
Terrible me didn’t snap any pics of the kids either. Here’s one I took of baby girl at school.

20111211-215458.jpg
And another of twenty doing what she does all the time, heading to work. Poor child is a full time college student and recently just down graded from two jobs to one. I can’t say I don’t admire her hustle because I do. She’s determined and hardworking. I’m glad she cut back to just one job though, cause she be looking worn out.

20111211-215608.jpg
Forgive me for the long post and ramblings, but this is what happens when one doesn’t post for a week! Next week, I’m challenging myself to post everyday or atleast every other day. You guys, my readers are everything to me. Stay tuned.

Peace and blessings,
Dee

22 comments
  1. julia Williams said:

    Post was very interesting. Trip to New York seems like fun,eventho it’s my least favorite place to visit. Lol

  2. Honehh you are working the colored tights! Great pics!!!

    • Haha.. Your funny with the “Honehh” ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for stopping by and for the compliment

    • Very nice compliment from you. Thx for stopping by! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I really like how you put your outfits together it’s so cute!

  4. quarlita smith said:

    MISSED YOU TOOOOOOOOOOOOO LOVESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS IT LOL

  5. Kim said:

    Thanks for your wonderful comments. Briefly looking over your blog I’m loving it and your style too. A single mother of four? Wow I’m sure that makes you a very strong woman. I’m raising two alone so I know how difficult it can be yet so rewarding. You have such a lovely family.

    • Thanks for stopping by. Parenthood in paticular can be a huge challenge, even more so when going it alone. Nevertheless, these kids gotta get raised. So.. I do my best! Wouldn’t trade em for nothing!

  6. I love love love how your put your outfits together. You look amazing! I think its great that you shop in such diverse places and show that you can look stylish on a budget. i am all about shopping in the most cost conscious way, especially in this economy.

    • Foodfashionandflow… Your style is all that. I appreciate the compliment. yes, I’m big on the budget, discount, and sales. It’s all in how it’s done. Thanks for stopping by! I’m gracious
      Dee

  7. Hey Miss Lady!

    I appreciate you stopping by the blog for the guest post. It was well received and I think you do an amazing job of connecting to women when it comes to matters of the heart! You have such a way with words. Thanks again for sharing them with us!

    Now this trip to NY…. I wish I could have gone with!!!! There is no Zara or H&M near my city and I wish there was. That would be the perfect trip for Christmas shopping!

    Your style is so fab. You always put your outfits together so well. I’m loving the mustard and blue tights, the blue and white scarf, and the pink earrings. You betta werk!!!!

    Much โค
    Dre

    • Thanks Drea!
      Your comments are a welcome ray of sunshine girl. Your support goes beyond what I would have imagined. Much appreciated!

      New York was a blast. We don’t have a Zara near me either, and I’ve only looked at Zara online. Now that, was a dream. But no H&M? My, my, my… at this point, I don’t know what I’d do withourt H&M. Maybe, we’ll just have to plan a trip then!
      Thanks again for the compliments. much love!

  8. jeimy said:

    you’re soo stylish and stunning thank you soo much for stopping by and showing me love great blog

    xoxo

    jeimy

  9. Nicole Elmore said:

    Thanx for sharing your blogs. You have no idea how much a of blessing they are. Outfits are FAB as always.. I am going to tell my friends at Essence Magazine about you ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes!! Please do tell your friends over at Essence ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks for your compliments, and I am honored by your words. People like you keep me writing! I’m grateful

Leave a Reply

