You Can’t Hurt Me No More

“I thought my life was over,  and then God met me in the mist of my mess and basically told me to fight because he had work for me to do.”
– Nicole Elmore founder
image

You Can’t Hurt Me No More is a powerful movement that is committed to helping others find there own voice through motivational speaking, life experience,  poetry, stage plays, and more. The YOU can represent many things ranging from fear, peer pressure, depression, debt, anger, abuse, insecurity, bullying, doubt, whatever your YOU is, you have the power to overcome it. Meet Nicole Elmore the groups founder, owner and others that are a part of this movement as they share and explained what YCHMNM is, where it’s going, and how you can be a part of it.

Nicole and I are comfortable with each other. We are apart of a sisterhood and I am one of many women that help serve as an extension of YCHMNM. Even still, I honestly interviewed Nicole as if I didn’t know her for this post so that I could capture the essence of her message.

I started by asking the obvious. Nicole, what is You Can’t Hurt Me No More.

NICOLE’S STORY
YCHMNM Is a poetic, heartfelt movement that reaches the soul and nourishes it.. I started YCHMNM during a difficult time in my life.  I had given up on life and God met me in the mist of my mess and told me I had the power to fight back. I started writing poetry in 2011 and the more I would write,  the better I felt. I was at home with my kids. I shared it with them. They were my first audience. I later shared my vision with other women who I handpicked from my hometown of Allendale, SC.
image

and other women I picked from my current city I now live in. I knew we all shared a common ground and I asked them to help me with my vision and they all said, yes!!! And we are not just about women. Men, woman, and teens and children are a part of the YCHMNM experience. Men hurt too, and we have had several men speak out and share their stories. Hurt is not gender, race, or creed related. All people hurt. I am here to reach all people. Since starting YCHMNM, the thing I learned most about myself is that I am a fighter. Amazingly, I never knew this before starting YCHMNM. In the past, I would give up so easily, but my passion for YCHMNM has taught me the strength that I have inside of me. I have received so much positive feedback and support!!! And I truly appreciate all the love.

image

So many people have shown their love and support for YCHMNM. Alot of people are hurting out here and when I share my story, I have learned that the power in sharing a story gives others strength to release their hurt. Often times we think we are alone. We tend to think that no one understands. Those thoughts are a set up to keep us isolated. But I am here to tell isolation that you can’t hurt me No more. Even with the positivity others have showed my organization,  I’ve also experienced some hate. I don’t even let hate rent space in my mind. I don’t give it the time or energy. Expect haters because they are confirming that you are doing something great. When I think about YCHMNM in five years,  I sit back and say, WOW..… I am a dreamer so excuse me while I dream.

image

I see YCHMNM in movies, on broadway, and with God, there is no limit for my vision and my dream. And to you my sister Dee, I thank you for this positive atmosphere. I love your energy.. Thank you for creating a platform with your blog to raise my voice.. It’s enough of hurting silently.

BRANDY’S STORY
I’m glad to be a part of YCHMNM. My “You” was not loving myself and the skin that I’m in. Now, I’m feeling comfortable about me regardless. If I’m overweight, not loosing weight or just maintaining my current weight,  I’m making sure I love me no matter how hard I struggle. Self esteem is serious and without it people tend to be lost. I wanna be free to be whoever and whatever I am.

image

I love what YCHMNM stands for. I love the fact that I am not alone in my struggles in life. I wish I had something like this growing up. I know that other people can benefit from what YCHMNM has to offer. Having a group of positive woman with similar life experiences can really help people. For anybody struggling with issues of weight or self image, I first want to say you are not alone. There are so many people dealing with the same issues. Don’t cover it up like I did with cardigans, and layers of clothes.

image

whatever it is,  tell somebody, write it down do whatever it takes to get rid of the stress.  I tell my struggles and the things I’ve done to overcome my issues and offer any encouragement that I have to help anybody with their struggles. People need to know that they are not alone. We seem to think when we are going through things, that it’s just us. Well guess what? It’s not just you. So many people are broken and YCHMNM is the place to help you free yourself. Since I’ve been with YCHMNM, I feel so confident and I have been changing things about myself to help me feel even more confident. I do things for myself now. I put on a little makeup and dress up a little more often and do different things to my hair to step out of my comfort zone, being spontaneous and, I feel great, sexy and beautiful…lol

image

I am here being a part of YCHMNM, going to the next level. We are working on getting more involved in the community. Trying to reach out to as many people as possible. You never know who u can touch with your testimony. ..

VERNEA’S STORY
My “you” is many things. I’ve been a victim of domestic violence, I have insecurities, and worry about what others think of me. I have family issues. But the biggest “You” is that I have eczema. To me, eczema is where my insecurities stem from which could have been one of the reason I needed relationships to validate me. 

image

Being a part of YCHMNM is a blessing for me and, an outlet. I met others that have been through the same things I have in life. I felt alone for along time but this helps me with unity, sisterhood, and, I get to express myself the best way I know how, through speech. I feel good knowing that I can help others to be more productive in life after the hurt.

image

My advice to others going through struggles is to keep moving, believe in yourself, and be the best you can be. If you don’t know how, reach out and use the resorces around you. Life is short, so stop worrying and let it go. Do something, be something, smile, have fun, and live for you. Dance to your own drum. Women are suppose to be strong and fearless, so let your light shine no matter how uncomfortable someone else is with your light.

image

Acknowledging your issues doesn’t make you confident, but that’s the first step. It is a process with yourself, and God. Strive for a healthy spirit and life. Except your imperfections,  and finding beauty in you helps more with confidence. My future goals are to be healthy in everything I do. I’m working on starting my own business. I would love to do investigations on a federal level with the big boyz (lol), I want to be a motivational speaker, because I most definitely enjoy doing this with YCHMNM. I want to be wealthy and give back to my peers and youth.

DEE’S STORY
My “you” represents many things. I’ve shared my story of being a victim of domestic violence. I’ve been hurt by gossip, lies, and even some truth. I’ve witnessed the whispers taking place around me,  about me. And I was a victim of that for a long time. It’s been a long time coming, but I now can look all of those experiences in the face and tell them you can’t hurt me no more.

image

A few years ago, Nicole and I discovered we shared a love for writing, poetry, and we also shared some of the same pain. When she started YCHMNM I thought it was awesome. I thought it was anointed,  and I believed it was right on time. When she asked me to be a part of her movement,  I was scared to death. I was scared to tell my truth. Scared to expose my hurt,  and terrified of speaking in public. Nicole encouraged me and told me that my story needed to be told. Sure, I’ve been writing my whole life,  but public speaking, out loud?  In front of an audience,  that was not a part of my plan. But God….
Nicole convinced me, prayed with me through my fright, and next thing you know, showtime. It was the most liberating experience I’ve ever felt. YCHMNM gave me my voice back. It boosted my confidence,  and it is something I proudly support. People are hurting, people are dying, and people are being misled. We have no idea of the power that lies within us. We all have the power to change our lives and those around us. YCHMNM is on a misson, and we won’t be stopped.

imageNicole, Brandy, Dee, and Vernea at YCHMNM launch party.

To support and learn more about Nicole Elmore, and You Can’t Hurt Me No More,  visit us up on facebook by clicking the link. 

Most photos used by Michael Lawson for Glow Optical

image

I hope all who read this post have been encouraged,  inspired,  and enlightened.
Peace and blessings
Dee

14 comments
  1. Leah J's Word Trips said:

    You need not worry you did an amazing job on this post. This was a beautiful post to share, keep up the good work and to you and your friends God Bless!.

  2. Nicole Elmore said:

    Dee you are a Jewel!! Keep moving babe…

  3. I appreciate all the feedback I can get. Love your post hopefully on day I can inspire people like you .

    • Thx again. Inspiration can come from anywhere. And I’m sure you’ve got some in there too. Thx for having the courage to express that.

  4. cardamone5 said:

    Whoa! You are reaching people, changing lives and making a BIG difference. Hats off to you. So glad we connected. I’ll be following.

    Best regards,
    Elizabeth

    • Thank you so much!! And thanks for the follow, I started following you as well last night.
      Dee

Leave a Reply

