The Rise Of An Empire

image

Yo.
Did I just say yo.
Yes I did.. let me say it again for effect.
Yo!
Fox’s EMPIRE  finale was off the chain.
Full of twist and turns, and truly what I needed it to be.
Sometimes, you walk away from a finale show feeling disappointed, like something is missing, feeling confused, lost, and bewildered.
Trust me, that was not the case with Empire.
I’m not fan of the Fox network in general, but credit is certainly due to the network for bringing forth this artistry.
Every week viewership has steadily climbed, and it’s not just the young hip hop community that’s watching. It’s all cultures, everywhere.. watching.
I had my doubts in the beginning and almost didn’t tune in.
I was thinking not another urban hip hop show. Why should I waste my time watching this stereotypical propaganda.
And then… something magical happened.
Taraji P. Henson.
Chile… She was phenomenal. Almost born for this Cookie role it seems.
The chemistry between her character, and the others worked well.
I couldn’t get the music out of my head.
The guest appearances were great.
The show simply worked.
It has festered itself into the folds of my Wednesday nights, and it has done so boldly, fiercely, and unapologetically.
I walked away from last night’s episode with this in mind.
While some aspects of the finale were predictable, others were not and caught me totally off guard.
I found myself screaming loudly during some of the scenes, and let me tell you, I haven’t done that since the second season of Scandal.
Yea chile, even had some palpitations…
I can’t wait for the next season.
Will this Empire continue to rise, or will said Empire fall? We shall see.
I walked away feeling genuinely satisfied also with this in mind, the show isn’t real life. It’s entertainment. It’s goal is to entertain. No more, no less.
I don’t want to spoil it for those who haven’t watched the finale yet, so I won’t go into a full recap.
Just know.. trust your girl on this. I’m rarely wrong about these things. You must watch the Empire 2 hour season finale. You won’t be disappointed.
I could be partial, but I honestly think anybody who didn’t feel anything must be emotionally limp.
Or purely un-entertainable at best. Is that a word? Oh who cares. I used it. hmph!
For those that did watch, what did you think? Did you enjoy the finale show as much as me or am I living in a made up fantasy world?
🙂

Peace and love,
Dee

1 comment
  1. Pamela Thornton said:

    Yeap ! That’s a nice pic of them

Leave a Reply

